Malacañang awards oustanding OFW’s, organizations


President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday honored 25 overseas Filipino workers & organizations with presidential awards. Citing an appreciation for their hardwork, Duterte gave assurance to the OFW’s that their welfare remains the administration’s  “top priorities.”

“This nation will always recognize your invaluable contribution to nation-building, and this administration will continue to craft policies and implement programs that will respond to your needs and protect your rights,” the President added in a speech given at Malacañan Palace’s Rizal Hall.

In a December 5 report from the Philippine News Agency, recipients of the 2018 President Awards for Filipino Individuals and Organizations (PAFIOO) were selected from a 96 nominations “received by the Commission on Filipinos Overseas (CFO) from 28 countries through 37 Philippine embassies and consulates.”

The Presidential Awards have four categories: Banaag, Pamana ng Pilipino, Lingkod sa Kapwa Pilipino (LINKAPIL), and Kaanib ng Bayan.

According to a Presidential Communications Operations Office report, the awardees of the Banaag awards were given to Corazon Francisco from Australia, Agnes Katbeth Kreimer from Peru, Dindo Malanyaon from Italy, Juliet Montano from Taiwan, The Pilipino Workers Center of Southern California from the United States of America,
Maria Cristina Sulaik from Sudan, and Wimler Foundation Hong Kong Ltd. from Hong Kong.

This year’s Pamana ng Pilipino awards were given to Maria Theresa Eviota from Switzerland, Teresita Marques from Portugal, Saturnino Tiamson Jr. from Hong Kong, Jose Dennis Teodosio from Myanmar, Paul Balan, Edward Brotonel, Nicolas Caraquel, Elizabeth Engle, Pedro Jose, C. Jose Sayas, Jr., and Jhett Tolentino all from the United States of America.

Awardees of the Lingkod sa Kapwa Pilipino (LINKAPIL) awards were the Association of Fil-Am Teachers of America Inc., Salvacion Cimanez from The Netherlands, The Filipino-American Law Enforcement Officers Association,
Friends Indeed USA, Inc., and Hilda Gigioli from the United States of America.

Lastly, the Kaanib ng Bayan awardees were the Foreign Domestic Worker Association for Social Support and Training in Singapore, and the Stichting LOOP from The Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *